smurf2Sponsored by VTO Saddlery and the Area II Adult Riders  and Organized and presented by Yvonne Lucas


Calling adult (lower-level) riders “Smurfs” originated with Captain Mark Phillips some years ago. His comments caused quite an uproar among the adult riders, who make up the great majority of USEA members. DC McBroom made sure Mark was reminded of his comments at every opportunity by leaving a Smurf doll where he would be sure to encounter it. Since then many adult riders have adopted the Smurf title as their own.

I wanted to sponsor an award for adult riders that wasn’t based on performance in competitions. The various Smurf dolls available gave me some ideas for award categories, and in 2006 the first Smurfie Awards were presented. 

The recipients are nominated and selected by the members of the Area II Adult Riders. Except for the “Hug your Smurf” category, nominees must be current, paid members of the Ar2ARs. (I will check and let nominators know if their nominated person isn’t a member.) Nominees may not have won in the nominated category before. 

Smurfie categories and descriptions are on page 2. A list of past winners by year and by category is on page 3.

To make a nomination, email the person’s name, category, and a brief reason for the nomination to Yvonne Lucas at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  You may nominate a person for more than one category, and more than one person in each category.

Nominations will generally run through November, and voting will take place in December. Winners are announced at the Area II Annual Meeting, usually in January.

Winners receive ribbons, a plush Smurf doll and little goodies, and some wonderful items kindly donated by VTO Saddlery.

For information on joining the Area II Adult Riders, please go to the Area II website ( and click on Adult Riders.

For more information, questions, etc, please contact Yvonne Lucas at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., or email your question to the Ar2AR chat list at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.. To join the Ar2AR chat list, go to

The Smurfie Award categories and descriptions:

  • HUG YOUR SMURF:  Any person, A2AR member or not, who has done the most to support the Area II Adult Riders and their activities.
  • PAPA SMURF:  The A2AR member who best displayed leadership and dispensed support, information and wisdom to other Area II Adult Riders. 
  • COWBOY SMURF:  The A2AR member who best displayed bravery, brilliance, survivorship, riding-the-buck, and grace under pressure with a tough horse.
  • INDIAN SMURF:  The A2AR member who displayed great personal strength against adversity, showing toughness, heart, and perseverance.
  • SMURFETTE:  The A2AR member who consistently displayed and helped others achieve great style and turnout. A Groombabe or Groomdude!



HUG:     Steve Symansky, Gretchen Butts, Cheryl Microutsicos, Pat Mansfield, Holly Covey

PAPA:      Merlot (Anne Beech), Karen Rubin, Dorothy Smith, Michelle Lobsinger, Eileen Morgan   

COWBOY:   Barbara Cohen-King, Jeff Beshear, Eileen Morgan, Duncan MacRae, Patty Weston

INDIAN:   Karen Rubin, Pat Mansfield, Barbara Cohen-King, Anne Beech, Dorothy Smith

SMURFETTE:    Susan MacRae, Nick Olijslager, Kristine Slovis, Cindy Wood, D.C. McBroom


Hug Your Smurf:             Steve Symansky
Papa Smurf:                        “Merlot” (Anne Beech)
Cowboy Smurf:                Barbara Cohen-King
Indian Smurf:                      Karen Rubin
Smurfette:                 Susan MacRae

Hug Your Smurf:             Gretchen Butts
Papa Smurf:                        Karen Rubin
Cowboy Smurf:                Jeff Beshear
Indian Smurf:                      Pat Mansfield
Smurfette:                 Nick Olijslager
Special Smurf:                 Dorothy Smith

Hug Your Smurf:             Cheryl Microutsicos
Papa Smurf:                        Dorothy Sm,ith
Cowboy Smurf:                Eileen Morgan
Indian Smurf:                      Barbara Cohen-King
Smurfette:                 Kristine Slovis
Special Smurfs:             Cindy DePorter, D.C. McBroom, and Holly Covey

Hug Your Smurf:             Pat Mansfield
Papa Smurf:                        Michelle Lobsinger
Cowboy Smurf:                Duncan MacRae
Indian Smurf:                      Anne Beech
Smurfette:                 Cindy Wood

Hug Your Smurf:            Holly Covey
Papa Smurf:                 Eileen Morgan
Cowboy Smurf:                 Patty Weston
Indian Smurf:                 Dorothy Smith
Smurfette:                 D.C. McBroom

Featured Image

Berkley Gardner and Aristocrat- 2022 area 2 Modified Division Champions!

Berkley Gardner and Aristocrat- 2022 area 2 Modified Division Champions!

Log In/Out

Join Area II Adult Riders Now!